Pirate Hat

Standard

So today was “Dress Like a Pirate Day” at Krispy Kreme. So if you dressed up, you got a free box of donuts. Since I teach class at 9:30 I figured I’d grab donuts for my class.

I struggled with that bow for a good hour until I liked it.

I struggled with that bow for a good hour until I liked it.

I kind of made this on a whim, so I don’t have any good pictures along the way. But the basics of what I did are after the break!

What You’ll Need:

  1. A pirate hat. I got mine from a local Halloween store. I got a velvet one so fabric glue stuck to it well.
  2. An assortment of goodies for it. I used feathers that I got from Michael’s and wired ribbon.
  3. Scissors, glue (E6000, Fabric Glue)

What to Do:

  1. I spent a really long time putting my feathers in different positions on the floor until I decided that I liked a certain arrangement. I was fortunate that there was an “X” in the hat made of fabric that I should shove the feathers into. So I did that and held them there with E6000 and some fabric glue.  At Michael’s they sell assorted feathers. So the peacock feathers, and the dark green feathers, and the blue rooster feathers all came in pack. I also had them lying around my house from other projects that I was doing.
  2.   I then made the bow. This took me about an hour of fighting, fiddling, and tweaking. So I started out just by making a normal bow. Since the ribbon is wired, so get a small knot in the middle you have the pull the bow pretty hard. I then tweaked the bow bits until I liked their size and shape. I then took the tails of the ribbon and made two more loops. I took one tail, looped it, and shoved the end through the main knot. I did the same for the other loop. I then spend more time fiddling and tweaking the bow. I then cut the tails to a little longer than I wanted them. I folded in the extra and glued it down. I folded it because the wire will stick out if you don’t hide it somehow.
  3. I then glued the bow at the bottom of the feather arrangement with fabric glue and waited a good hour for it to dry. Then I wore it to class and taught about how bodies decompose in aquatic environments … like a boss Captain =)
    The rest of my costume I actually had laying around from other events I’ve done.
Here I am with my swag.

Here I am with my swag.

Leave a comment